One Year on

One year gone (11/3) without my best friend. It may sound crazy saying that she was my best friend, especially to anyone who hasn’t known such unconditional love from an animal. As it’s been said, with great love brings great pain, and if that’s the price to pay then so be it. I’m thinking back to these days and weeks after the suddenness of her passing where the pain was like a knife twisting in my heart feeling the loss so much of that little bringer of joy, love and companionship. One year on it’s definitely not quite as difficult to bear, but there are moments when it does grab you hard and tears come. I still want to look down at that old whiskery face with the softest brown eyes, looking up at me. I miss everything she was to all the family.

These photos were from a time a few years ago when I relied on Breagha to get me through tough times. She was there to lick my tears and provide furry cuddles and to get me out of the house when I just wanted to sit inside and wallow. She seemed to know my feelings and would watch me and come over by my side, we were so tuned in to one another.

See, they are never ‘just a dog’ and they are completely oblivious as to how a person can need them just as much they need us.

Breagha’s light remains inside me and she will be forever by my side.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.