Enfin

Today has been a struggle, physically and between the ears. 

Work was work - in the Office, mostly alone. The "mostly" is a long story, but added to the stresses. Strangely enough I was very productive, and (I think) doing good quality work. 

Yesterday tired me. I am not used to being sociable with other people for 6 hours. I was tired - as in weary - anyway, and needing my upcoming holiday time. 

Yesterday also plays a part in the "between the ears" stuff, as we talked a lot about current events. It was not possible to find much to be positive about. 

This evening has been about trying to distract myself. Bruno - see link - helped. I could not put a number on how many times I have visited Brussels, and whilst almost all the visits were for work, all were enriching. 

Even the one when I got cramp in my hamstring while having lunch with the head of the EU Commission's legal service and trying to impress her into giving me a project. I was hopping around the restaurant like a rabbit in heat. 

A few months later she turned up on the interview panel for a project we had been shortlisted for. No, we did not get it. 

The Commission's local office wanted us to get the job, and knew the winners would be awful. So they created a second project, specifically designed so that we were the only people qualified to win it. The second project would sort out the mess created by the consultants who won the first one.  

The EU is great, but has its faults too. 

Bruno's vlog does not seem to have any subtitles, but a lot of it is visual anyway. If you get to the end, he raves about the Palais de Justice - law courts - and he is right. I was there for a drinks reception to celebrate something or other in the legal world. 

Bruno

It did seem a little surreal, and anyone who has encountered imposter syndrome will know what I mean. 

The Blip is dessert this evening, while waiting for the washing machine to finish up. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.