Arrivals

The Blip is the arrivals hall at Porto Airport, as I waited (very briefly) for meeter-and-greeter Manuel to emerge from the car park, and then whisk me off to my apartment in the city centre. 

The photo is timed at 22:36, so it has been a late arrival. Porto Airport was fast, efficient and totally pleasant, in stark contrast to another airport I occasionally rant about. Even passport control involved human beings rather than scanners, and a pleasant smile along with it. Queuing time 90 seconds. 

Ryanair got me here 20 minutes early, so hats off to them too. Mind you, they did have one of those cabin crew guys who decided he would spend the whole 2 hours announcing fabulous deals on this, that and the other. A bit of peace and quiet would have been nice. Even 5 minutes… 

This morning when I was double checking a detail of what I needed for getting into Portugal under its pandemic restrictions, I noticed the 7 day infection rate here is 580 per 100k. In Scotland it is 1,300. Or it was. The published figures are almost a week behind. *sighs*

So long as I did not catch it on the plane, seems like Portugal is a much safer place to spend 2 weeks at moment.     

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.