Flossmo

By Flossmo

Wisley

I whizzed off to Wisley late morning to find the car parks almost full. Wisley isn't mean with it's car parking (thank goodness) and I found a space albeit at some distance from the entrance. But I can never believe how many people visit even on a cool, mostly cloudy Monday in March. There was a threat of rain (see extra) but it never did materialise.  And as always there was much to enjoy: thousands of daffodils, hoards of hellebores and crowds of crocuses (or croci if you prefer the Latin). New to me was the tree that had been carved yielding a beautiful bee (see extra). The top of the tree had been carved into a series of pine cones, one on top of another with another bee on top of those. I always feel it is so clever to produce a sculpture by subtraction. I missed the name of the star flower - sorry.     

Later we went to a short lecture in Wisley's new Hilltop Complex on the subject of pruning. Horticultural heathen that I am, it was all a revelation to me. Finally, we had a late lunch in the Hilltop cafe.

Tomorrow I start with the pruning shears. 

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.