Main Office

Some of our students require 1:1 adult support and my day often begins by hovering around the office problem solving staffing assignments. This morning there was some anxiety over the fact that far more staff were out than we had substitutes to cover for them. An hour later there was some anxiety because so many students were out I wasn't sure where to use all the staff that were looking for something to do. Somehow it always sorts itself out, because it has to.

Heading in to the office this morning I managed to catch this brief moment with my shadow framed in the doorway. One thing I like about this image is that it exudes a sense of emptiness and isolation completely detached from the reality of situation, since there were students streaming into the school behind me and the office was full of people milling around. I just stood in the doorway for a minute looking at my phone and took the photo during a brief moment when the scene was clear.

I like it as a companion to another photo I took at school in a place that really was quiet and empty.

I don't have a photography "style" really, but if I had to pretend I did and choose one word to describe it, right now I'd go with "circumstantial." The four definitions I find for this word include: dependent on circumstances, pertinent but not essential, marked by careful attention to detail, and ceremonial. I'd like to think those descriptions reflect the collection of photos I've put together so far here on this site.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.