King Alfred's Cakes

... one of the common names for these 'flask fungi' (Daldinia concentrica). One looked as if a previous passer-by had cut it, revealing the concentric rings that appear in its Latin name (See Extra). The other common name is Cramp Balls, so called as people used to believe that placing one inside the foot of the bed would cure nighttime cramps. I like the name King Alfred's Cakes, as they do look burnt. These are new to me, so was very pleased to spot them on Tiny Tuesday for the challenge, with thanks to this month's host, Jill (JDO).

Thank you for all your kind comments on my yesterblip. Slept like a log last night, despite having spent half of yesterday asleep. Woke up still slightly headachy but got rid of the vestiges of ache by going on a long walk this afternoon. Walked down through Worlebury Woods to Sand Bay, along the North Somerset Tidal Trail, at the foot of the woods, running parallel to the road, with the coast beyond. This led me into Kewstoke where I climbed Monks Steps to arrive back home. Altogether over five miles! Achieved over 12000 steps, 96 active minutes, and completed my 9/9 hourly step-targets so FitBit was very pleased with me. At the bottom of Monks Steps my heartrate was 136 bpm, so I sat on the bench and waited till it had dropped to 110 bpm before climbing the 200+ steps. The first 130 are very steep, and then the path becomes a little shallower, thank goodness! Felt better by the time I got back.

The washing I'd left hanging out was nearly dry, but I had to put on another wash. In the very muddy woods, a dog decided to say hello by jumping up (in a friendly way!) and leaving thick mud on my coat and jeans. The woman owner trailing behind offered a feeble 'sorry!' Ho hum. It was a nice-looking dog ...!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.