The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Flags a-flutter

This morning on the way to work I passed a couple of groups of gentlemen in tweeds, wafting on a cloud of aftershave. There was something Irish about them, I thought they might have been off-duty priests, until I realised that they were race-goers, most likely staying at the hotel opposite the park and on their way up to the bus stop to catch their transport to Cheltenham race week, which started today. A little wave of nostalgia washed over me: when we lived in Co.Dublin, our house was within sound of Leopardstown races. I was never taken thetw, being a mere child at the time, but the sounds have stayed with me.

Much later, when I walked back the same way, I noticed that the Catholic Church, the church of the Immaculate Conception, was flying the Ukrainian flag as well as the flag of the Irish Republic, which is always flown during Cheltenham race week.

My new job will be at premises almost next door to my current job, so I'll still be able to notice these small details, and have a long walk to work.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.