Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Before the rain

..I walked into town through the reserve for my Wednesday appointment, trying to decide if the air did have an orange tinge.  I know London got some Saharan sand and I'd have said we did slightly too (we're only 60 miles away, after all).

It wasnt really the light for shots of birds and I had very much wanted to get some people blips, but by the time I arrived in the High Street it was pouring and the few shoppers out were running for cover.  So the two blips here will have to suffice. ;))

First off this little blue tit.  I have no idea why s/he suddenly sat in this very odd posture, but I have to admit it did make me laugh.  A minute later s/he had flown off, so a really instantaneous encounter.  The shot in Extras I look longer over.  The quality isn't good because I was shooting over the river (and nearly slipping into it) but I was enchanted to be able to watch a pair of long-tailed tits making their nest.  They were bringing lichen in one at a time, diving into the nest, sticking it wherever the walls needed extra thickness, then waggling their little bums from side to side to hollow out the requisite space!  What utter cuties. 

Hope your day's treating you kindly.  I have a friend coming this evening to sort out the computer, so I'll try to get commenting done before he arrives.

Take care xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.