Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Mrs

I haven't seen either of the sparrowhawks for over a week and have been hoping they're still planning their nest here and not moved elsewhere.  But this morning there was Mrs, which was a hopeful sight.

My current reading is a book called Goshawk Summer, by world-class wildlife cameraman James Aldred.  At the beginning of the first covid lockdown he was commissioned to spend a few months filming a pair of goshawks in the New Forest, so nearly home territory for me.  It's been particularly interesting not only because the New Forest is a place where  I've spent a lot of time over the years, but also because goshawks, like sparrowhawks are accipiters - I think the only two that live and breed in the UK.  Not wise to draw too many parallels, I know, but interesting all the same.

Yesterday I read this in JA's book:
I spend my life trying to get away from the clutter of modern life.  I don't think I'm alone in finding its relentless demands trying.  I'm not talking about the people around me - quite the opposite in fact.  What I struggle with most is the constant barrage of noise, advertising and digital stimulation that has become accepted as the norm.  It seems deliberately designed to corrode and undermine our ability to recognise what truly matters.
I've quoted it because of the way it hit home.

The rest of my day has been busy with the usual: gardening, paying bills, having my hair cut - and planning an awayday for tomorrow - I hope.

Happy St Patrick's Day to all of you for whom it's a celebration  xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.