Torquay Potteries

At the Museum today the talk was about the old Torquay potteries. These were the red clay Art potteries that operated between 1870 and 1960. The speaker was Lewis Bond, the Chairman of the Torquay Pottery Collectors Society. The Society was founded in 1976, and now has members all over the world. There is a comprehensive book about the potteries which once employed 500 people. Extra. Lewis traced the history of the different firms and the various styles, and brought some of his own collection.see extra picture.
The main photo is our collection chosen because we love the colours. Later I tested my patience, and my new resolution not to swear. I never used to but it is a bad  habit that has sneaked in since I got older. I was  putting a cot together (******) and fixing a safety gate ( ******)  in preparation for a visit from some lovely grandchildren.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.