Aquamarine/Nanna K's Day

By cdsvfdcs

Our Blue Planet

Global Visions  of Water ..     the new exhibition at Seattle Art Museum.   A huge subject with 74 artists represented from 17 countries and 7 Native American Tribes.       It was actually an overwhelming collection drawn from the museum and local collectors, and not possible to do it all justice..history, geography, environment, disasters, cultural, paintings, sculpture, photos, videos, poetry, ceramics, ancient artifacts, even artists’ books.     Having said that, it was such an eclectic array of art to feast the eyes on that I suspect there was something for everyone to love.     The extra shows some of the diversity…I’ve put my favorite —Sherry Markowitz’s Sea Bear in the Center, part of the creatures that live in the water section …..the poster for this from a show in 1990 is in my studio at the island…she made a moose with beads like this that we coveted, the postcard is up in my studio here ..it’s from 1981.   But I digress.  The link gives you some of the subjects if you are interested….. the blip shows some local Native footage with canoes and the large piece, “The First People”  by Susan Point who is Canadian, Musqueam First Nation. 

A fun art date.  I’ll go again, and absorb more beauty.   Masks are no longer required but I only saw a very few people without.  We skipped the panel discussion in the auditorium (It was members preview day)...otherwise it wasn't too crowded...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.