Gorgeous Day

A bit chilly this morning, but it was a lovely sunny early spring day. I worked this morning then went over to Vancouver, WA to see my mom, which I always do on Wednesdays. We have so much fun now that I don't have to be her caregiver as well as her daughter. So we ate lunch, did some word puzzles and ended up doing a Backgammon challenge of three games (since we each won one we had to have a 3rd!) and I know you'll be delighted to know that FINALLY I WON! Two out of three! And she was ruthless! I grinned all afternoon ;-) 

My sister, who has been filling is caregiving shifts and spending two nights a week with mom has finally determined that she needs others to be the caregivers. So mom will have 24/7 external caregivers starting soon. I am so relieved for my sister...she was really burning out. So yay!

When I got home I decided to spend a couple of hours in the garden. The big perennial border needed my attention badly so I got part of the way through cleaning it up. It's always so darned miserable here in November that I often put off the clean up thinking I'll do it in the spring. If February is nice, which it can be, that works. Otherwise, not so much.

I love these little Siberian Squill - Scilla siberica - and they've started to naturalize in the garden. Of course they make a fine early spring slug food too. They're lovely aren't they? 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.