Living my dream

By Mima

Pommes

The apple crop is massive this autumn. These trees are on S and N’s property: two of a total of 25 heritage apple trees that they inherited when they bought the place.

I have been offered to take as many as I want when they are ripe (not long now). Each year I fill eight airtight jars with sliced, dehydrated apple, which last me through winter, spring and summer until the next crop is ready. One additional jar is filled for S and N as a thank you for the bounty.

This year for the first time I also have some of my own apples. I planted three trees in 2018, then two more in 2020. The older ones have produced fruit for the first time. I’m sure the wet summer has contributed to their success.

Some of the apples in my wee orchard have been attacked by those voracious blackbirds, so I’ve picked them. There are a couple of crumbles in the oven, filling the kitchen with the most amazing aroma of autumn.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.