Living my dream

By Mima

Trap

This is my possum trap. It hasn’t killed anything for about five months, despite there being possums about. Despite Bean’s best efforts. So yesterday I moved it from the cabbage tree, where it’s been for seven months. I cleaned it, recharged the allegedly irresistible cinnamon lure, and screwed it into a dead kowhai tree near the truck.

For several mornings this week I have discovered possum pee on the table or chair on the deck (yuck), so placing the trap nearby “should” increase the chances of dispatching the culprit.

Nothing this morning, but I have high hopes for tomorrow…

Part 3 of the drama at my neighbours’ was finding their five sheep had broken through the fences which have been compromised by trees being felled over them two weeks ago (sigh). They were on the road. So I hoozled them back into their paddock and did some emergency remedial work on the fences, then phoned W to let him know.

To my astonishment he and T have just decided to go away for a long weekend, despite continuing potential for water problems, and the sheep fencing still being dodgy. If it were me, I’d have stayed put to fix the problems.

I fear there may be Parts 4 etc to come… However I’m in Dunedin tomorrow, so their property will have to look after itself.

And for a real treat I’m about to go out to a concert in town: a rare visit from the NZSO to our wonderful Opera House.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.