Living my dream

By Mima

Those eyes…

Bean rested on the window seat this morning while I messed about in the kitchen. She kept a close eye on what was going on. Just in case it resulted in food in her bowl.

Part 2 of the drama at my neighbours’ started first thing, when I spotted a fountain shooting up out of the (now full) cattle water trough. The stopcock had cracked and was overfilling the trough at the same time as sending water into the air.

I couldn’t fix it, so after a quick conversation with W, I shut off the water at the source: the tank on the hill above their house.

The stock didn’t stop drinking of course, so at lunchtime and again later on I popped over to open the tap, to refill the troughs for cattle, horses and sheep, then turned it off again.

Had I left the supply running the fountain would have drained the tank by the end of the day, leaving no water for animals or returning humans.

W and T will have to fix it tonight, but they’re not due home until 8.30, so I anticipate hearing curses as they stumble around in the dark with tools and a replacement stopcock. Poor things.

Meanwhile here Chez Mima all is serene and I had a busy day which seems to have passed in a flash.

And while I was waiting for the horses’ water trough to fill at lunchtime I gave Lily a heavenly scratch behind her ear. She made little happy snorty noises. It was wonderful.

Then Bean sat on my feet, so I had a horse ear in my right hand and a dog ear in my left. My cup runneth over.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.