ABSTRACT THURSDAY - REPITITION

I had to laugh when I saw the theme for today’s Abstract Thursday, because you can’t get much more repetitive than this!  In fact, there are so many pens, pencils, and markers that I had to stand on the steps to take this shot!

Is there a job in your house that you have promised yourself you would do “when you had time”?  Because I love writing, I have SO MANY pens and pencils so when I find a “pen” shop, and sadly there aren’t that many left now, I can’t resist buying another one, and another one and another one - you get my drift!

Some of these pens have long since ceased to write - some of them go back to my work days - and I have been retired for almost 14 years, so were definitely due for a clear out.  For the last couple of days, I have been trawling through every drawer, box, cupboard, jar and handbag and I think this is just about the lot.  I noticed that there was a pen with “Mum” written on it, which I remember buying for my Mum and that came back to me after she died.  The only one that isn’t there is the pencil that Mr. HCB is actually using to do his Sudoku, and I dare not wrest that from his grip, on pain of death!

So here is my offering for Abstract Thursday - and I’m sure the “eagle-eyed” among you will notice that there are two emery boards too - well, every good secretary and writer has one in her pen pot in case of that broken or snagged nail!  There are also a few green pens, in honour of St. Patrick's Day!

This is SOOC and I love how colourful they are - my beloved fountain pens - all five of them - are in the little jug in the middle of the shot - and my very favourite of them all is my Parker pen, which I have had since I was 10 years old, but it still writes the best of any pen I have ever had.

I decided to “scrawl” my name across the middle of the shot - and it brought back memories of when our younger son (and maybe our older son did it too, but never admitted it!) forged my signature during his school days when he wanted to be “let off” P.E. or for some other reason that required my signature.  However, he never got it quite right, which was what tripped him up - it’s the last little flourish that did it!

“One child, 
     one teacher, 
          one book, 
               one pen 
can change the world.”

Malala Yousafzai :  
I Am Malala: The Story of the Girl Who Stood Up 
for Education and Was Shot by the Taliban

P.S.  Thank you for all your lovely comments, stars and hearts for yesterday’s poem - sorry I didn’t get round to responding, but I was out in the evening, for the first time in 2 years last night, at a Worship Group practice - and really enjoyed it - but didn’t feel up to commenting when I got home.  I could have done it in the middle of the night, because I was still awake, watching the news about Ukraine, which was truly awful but also the wonderful news about Nazanin Zaghari-Ratcliffe until I eventually went up to bed at 4.41! This afternoon will be spent sorting out which pens work and which will be consigned to the bin, unless of course, I fall asleep! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.