One Swan a-Swimming.....

It was one of those days. Before it was even daylight this morning, I had slipped on the ice on my deck and taken a nasty fall, slipped but had not fallen in the shower, and filled the pepper shaker with salt! I thought it best not to venture out today. I was obviously not fit for adventures...

So, in the safety of my own home, I spent the better part of the morning working on a photo book to replace an old photo album of a trip to Tuscany..and finished yet another novel of murder and mayhem. By that time, it was almost the end of the day, and I was really tired but, egad,  I had not a single photo for a blip! 

It had been a beautiful, mild day and although I knew the harbour would be crawling with people on spring break, I thought it would be pretty easy to find something worthy of a photo down there.. so off I went.

Actually, photo-ops were surprisingly hard to come by...the lake was as calm as glass, no wave action at all and it was hazy... no geese or ducks ..just a few within the harbour ...lots of seagulls though...

...and one lonely swan, lazily floating quite close to the promenade, constantly grooming, seldom lifting its head or stretching its long lovely neck for that perfect swan shot...but it was the swan or nothing... 

That poor swan..I stalked it, followed its every move, took endless and mostly unusable photos and then, when it finally finished its beautification ritual, rather than stretch up proudly and elegantly to pose as I had hoped, it curled up and took a nap! I couldn't help but laugh...and include that shot..( extra)  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.