Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Borough Market

I was up early to get the 8.28 train to London for my follow up appointment at the dermatology institute, only to find on arrival at the station that the train was delayed by 25 minutes as someone had been ill on a train further up the line. I did have a bit of a panic as I thought I would be late for my appointment but I had factored in some -grab-a-coffee time, and the consultant was a little fluid with the time of my appointment - he said come at about 9.30ish, any time between 9.30 and 10am - which at the time seemed odd but now worked in my favour with this delay.

I managed to get to the hospital at about 9.40am which was absolutely fine (forgoing the coffee on the way). The dermatologist said that only one patch had shown a mild allergic reaction and that was the patch for Linalool - yes you may ask, what is that, I certainly had no idea and had never heard of it, but apparently it is found in many plant based substances like lavender oil, basil oil etc and is found in nearly all perfumes, scented candles, body and face products (even if they say fragrance free). I was advised to avoid these for a while to see if it makes a difference. Well that's not going to work is it, I cannot avoid everything! It is also in lavender and geranium plants which is exactly what we have in our garden. I will go back to the referring dermatologist I saw initially to find out the next step, but I cannot keep using the steroid creams for my eczema as they thin the skin and cause chronic drying (and therefore wrinkles!)

After I left the hospital I popped into Borough Market, I took a couple of photos and bought some salted caramel vegan brownies which were made with tahini. I got home by midday.

After lunch I went for tea at a camera club friend's house, she lives very close to my house, and there were three of us there. I had bought the brownies to take to her and we shared one of them - they were enormous, and quite delicious!

Now its Friday night, we will get an Italian take away for dinner and relax. And I am going to so enjoy soaking in the bath tonight after a week of not being allowed to get my back wet! It will be a job to rub off all the ink markings and sticky residue from the tape. The pressure from the tape has actually damaged the skin, I have red lesions all over my back.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.