Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Semaphore Tower

It was another sunny and warm day today, in the sunshine it reached 17C but there was a sneaky cool wind at times which brought the temperature down. Next week it is forecast to reach 19C here but I will miss the warm weather as Harris & Lewis in the Outer Hebrides is much colder. 

We had a lovely walk at Ockham Common and Chatley Heath, where you can see this tower. It was built in 1822, a remnant from the Napoleonic era, it is the only surviving semaphore tower in Britain. It was once a building at the forefront of technology and design, a vital link in a signalling chain that transmitted messages from Admiralty House in London to Portsmouth Docks in just a few minutes. It was restored during the pandemic and now you can stay there - it sleeps 4 at a cost of just over £100 a night.

Last night my soak in the bath did not remove all the ink marks on my back, I cannot get them off and I hope they will fade in time. I also have some nasty red marks from the tight tape which damaged my skin, so thankfully it is not swimsuit weather as I would not be displaying my back the way it looks now! I am fed up with the results from the allergy testing, it has not really helped determine the cause of my eczema and I cannot keep using the steroid creams to treat the eczema, especially not on my eyes, so I am not sure what to do. I researched some non steroid creams that were recommended and ordered some of those so I will try them out and see if they help. 

I made a lamb tagine for supper as Adam is coming to stay tonight. Pip is still away in Australia visiting her sisters. Tomorrow is Luke's birthday and we have lunch out but in the morning the boys are playing golf, and as it's an early tee off time it was easier for Adam to stay at home tonight. 

I have started packing for my trip next week, if I lay everything out there is less chance that I will forget something behind!

I am so hoping for a peace treaty between Russia and Ukraine. When I wake up in the morning the first thing I do is check the news in the hope that there is something positive happening, but it seems to get worse. The overwhelming support by so many people is the only positive thing happening at the moment. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.