Flower Friday : : Fern

A lot of new wildflowers are appearing on our Spike walk this morning, but in the end, I decided that I liked this picture of the sun shining through the ferns which grow gracefully off the side of the bank next to  the trail. I've added a couple of wildflower extras.

The plan this morning was to hope the tile guys came in time for us to go to Trail House for our usual Friday morning gathering, then on to do a couple of errands and then a nice walk with Spike on the way home. It almost didn't happen. David arrived at 8:30am  followed by the tile guys a few minutes later. We weren't keen on taking Blake to the Trail House (or leaving him in the car which is where Spike usually ends up). But David, who is practically a member of the family, said he would be here until we got back so we left Blake with him. 

Following the usual delightful Trail House gathering, which involved a lot of gardening talk, some Pilates advice and discussions of the wedding of Tobi and Dan's son in May. They will be hosting the rehearsal dinner at their house and plan to roast a whole pig!

We stopped at the ATM for some cash and then drove on the the pharmacy to pick up a prescription. While I was waiting my turn outside with John's credit card in my pocket, John shouted to me that he had left his card in the ATM and drove off. He came back without it and we decided we'd better go home so he could call the bank. Of course he didn't have his phone and wanted to use mine but I didn't fancy sitting in the car while he was on hold to the bank for an hour without my phone. On the way home I realized that it was the ATM card he had left in the machine and I didn't think one could get the money out of the machine without taking the card out first. John's wallet and  pockets were double checked. No card.

As we were walking into the house I pulled John's credit card out of my pocket, the penny dropped and we realized that he had panicked when he saw the empty space in his wallet (for the credit card which he had just given me). The ATM card was in his wallet. Crisis averted, we loaded both dogs into the car and took them on a walk. Spike took his roundabout ride in the back of the car in stride and enjoyed his walk as usual. We did too.

The tile guys are still here as I write, and we haven't ventured into the crowded space to see how it looks, but they are pros and we will be very happy to have seen the last of the pebbles.

...and that we won't have to go through the hassle of changing the credit card number again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.