The second half of life..

By twigs

Chasing butterflies

Another stunning day - even the tussocky hills along the Cardrona Road glowed this morning (extra).  Whilst driving through this area is stunning no matter the weather, the all-round blue skies and summery warmth certainly helped - a real change from some recent weather I've had further south.  

A stop alongside Lake Hawea to admire the views changed into a bit of a butterfly chase - so many of these cute little common blues that caught my eye and looked gorgeous against the burnt grass background.  I stopped for some lunch alongside the lake and met a young man who, along with his girlfriend, were heading from home in Wanaka to Nelson to do some mountainbiking.  We had a lovely chat then, having seen my sad-looking lettuces (which I'd placed outside to get some sunshine) raced back over to me just before they left and gave me 3 tomatoes "to go with the lettuces - freshly picked from my garden this morning".  What a lovely gesture.....and very tasty too.

Further along Lake Wanaka (extra) I met pregnant woman travelling with partner, child and dog in a small van.  They were on a 2 week trip from Taranaki and she was almost speechless about the scenery she'd been enjoying.  She said she'd been down here some 15-odd years ago but didn't recall it being so awe-inspiring.  

I was going to stay at Boundary Creek DoC campground tonight but it seems to be closed.  I have no idea why as none of the info I'd read had given any inkling about any closure.  Onward then to my old and trusty Makarora campground.

In COVID news, 15,540 new community cases were reported today; 952 people are in hospital and 19 in ICU.  Sadly, two more deaths were also reported.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.