The second half of life..

By twigs

Bellbird

Hmmmmm.......it seems I really am dragging my feet a bit - I've driven less than 20kms today!  Too many beautiful bushwalks to be done....too many lovely birds to meet, including the wee fantail this morning who decided to spend time with me.  He chatted constantly, was super friendly and inquisitive to the point where, not once but twice, he perched on my lens hood whilst I was trying to capture his best side!  Then there was this bellbird who was singing his (her?) wee heart out (in the hope of attracting a mate??) whilst displaying beautiful puffed-up feathers.  S/he flew to within cooee of me and continued her song which clearly worked as bellbird #2 appeared soon after.  If it was a courting ritual I think she was unlucky this time because he departed pretty soon after arriving!  I'd always thought bellbirds got their name from the bell-like sounds they make; seeing these images I wonder now if it's because of the shape they can morph themselves into.  

Another walk took me down to the Blue Pools.  Last time I was in this area (summer 2020 I think) this location was heaving with people......a constant stream crossing the swing bridges and walking the track.  Today........just a handful of people and I had the 'main event' above the pools totally to myself for a good 15 minutes.  I know not having visitors here doesn't help the economy, but it sure does feel very special to be able to enjoy my 'back door' locations they way they used to be.  I really do feel so very fortunate to have been able to experience it all.  On the walk back from the pools I also saw a yellowhead/mohua......another first for me.  Whilst the one picture I did manage to get through all the branches isn't great, it serves as a good wee memory jogger for me (extra).

So, tomorrow I need to change my shoes - put the lead-weighted ones that are slowing me down aside and pop on some high powered running shoes.  I think I'll be covering quite a few kms over the next couple of days.


In COVID news, 21,616 new community cases were reported today; 960 people are in hospital and 22 in ICU.  A further 2 deaths were also reported.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.