Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

This is Joan. She stopped by today to say goodbye because she’s moving to Virginia to be closer to her children (grandchildren and great grandchildren). I’ve known her for close to 20 years.

This is going to sound weird and maybe even mean, but I’m not going to miss her. I think it’s because she makes assumptions about people and knows what’s best for everyone. It never really bothered me until she started telling me what was best for my mom. She was also the last person, other than me, to see her alive and I blame her for crushing my mother’s spirit.

She started talking from the time she walked in, about herself and many of the people we both know, mostly negative things among the positive.

Finally, she said, “enough about all that. What are you going to do with your life?”
I was speechless. She repeated the question but added, “you’re only 67. You have another 20 years here. You need to get a life.”

She’s basically a good person and I sincerely hope that she’ll be happy in her new place closer to her family. I also hope that no one ever tells her how she must spend her remaining years and what will make her happy. Have a good life, Joan. I will do the same.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.