M6 CUMBRIA NORTHBOUND

Aaaarrrggghh I typed all this once earlier today but I had almost finished when I must have accidentally pressed something and it threw me out and of course doing it from the phone it doesn't save it in drafts!!!!!

So here I go again,

Left home at 8.30 this morning in bright sunshine with a bit of a frost but there was a distinct orange haze everywhere, even up Shap - all to do with the sand from the Sahara I guess.

Anyway roads were lovely and quiet and we arrived at Todhills services about 9.30. A bit too early for a stop really but we like it there because it's much smaller and quieter than general motorway services.

After that we joined the A74(M} still lovely and quiet and still that orangexhaze everywhere. We joined the A702 at Abington and drove up the beautiful Clude Valley, through Biggar and the Pentland Hills.

We arrived at The Steading at 11.45. We ditched the 8dea of driving into Edinburgh and G got a taxi out. He arrived with a
couple of minutes of us. Perfect.

We waved to The Flums. We didn't arrange a meet up with them as we knew it was going to be a flying visit, but we did raise a glass to them and missed them.

We had a very pleasant lunch. Hubby and G had a very succulent chicken curry, with plenty of chicken and I had Thai fishcakes. Portions a bit large and fairly standard pub grub, but good.

We left there just before one. Traffic a little busier but still not bad. It was still very hazy but less orange. We stopped at Todhills again for a convenience break.

It now became quite cloudy, which was a bit of relief on the eyes.

We arrived home at 4.00. A tiring but pleasant trip.

I am now going to rest my eyes and will catch up with you all tomorrow.

Do take care and stay safe and I will catch up with you all tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.