FLOOKBURGH MARSHES

I really felt I needed to get out today.  So I decided all the time I've lived here and driven through Flookburgh, which is only 3 miles from us, I've never been down to the marshes there.  So today I went.  

I was quite cold and grey at 10.30 am.  I parked next to a farm, just before the entrance to the marshes, not realising that you can actually drive over the grid and park there.   Oh well another time.

The old embankment along here is actually part of the Cumbrian Coastal Way I've just discovered.

When I arrived there was only one other couple and young family going in a different direction.  The old raised embankment goes alongside the marshes for about a mile.  You can see Flookburgh looking inland of course and you can see over the estuary to The Hoad.  There was a long stretch when there was no-one there except me, loads of birds (none close enough to photograph), and herds  of sheep in the field to my right.

The views are quite plain really but far reaching over marshes towards The Bay (which you can just about see glinting in the photo way in the distance).  However it has a huge sense of freedom, vast empty spaces, big skies and just me.

I wouldn't like to go there when the caravan park is in use as it is likely to be very busy so I must make the most of it whilst it's quiet.

I didn't quite walk  to the end of the embankment as I hadn't realised then that it only when on for a mile, but I did most of it and then turned back so not too bad a walk for me. 

Of course as soon as I got back to the car the sun started shining.  Murphy's Law is the nice way of saying it.

Here's a link about that little part of the Cumbrian Coastal Way for those interested.
Flookburgh Coastal Way

Back home in time for coffee and lunch.  

Do take care everyone and stay safe, see you all tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.