CHOCOLATE

Today's Mono Monday theme set by KangaZu is  ... " with your photo and one word show us what makes you happy".   I've chosen chocolate.

I love chocolate and I eat some every day. If I'm sticking to my Slimming World plan I will usually have a couple of squares of dark chocolate and one or two Hi Fi Bars ( Slimming Worlds own chocolate bars ).  As long as I have some chocolate I am able resist all the other chocolate you can see in my blip.  ( I will eat that now and again on special occasions - Mothers Day, Easter, my birthday etc.) 

Chocolate definitely makes me happy and I wondered if there was a reason for it - apart from the taste. This is what I found out.  " The effects of chocolate are actually to do with endorphin release in our body.  Studies have found that there are multiple components within chocolate that can give us that feeling of happiness and satisfaction. One element in particular is called tryptophan -  this is an amino acid that helps the brain to make serotonin; a neurotransmitter that makes us feel good.  Also Phenylethlalanine in the chocolate creates similar  feelings to when we fall in love -  increased alertness, increased heart rate, and motivation. It also acts as a natural antidepressant. Another  reason why chocolate makes us happy is the sugar content. When we eat chocolate that contains sugar, our taste buds send signals to our brains to tell us that we have eaten something sweet, which is instantly recognised as pleasure."    So much science affecting our brain when we eat chocolate - but all I know is that eating it makes me happy.... I don't care why.

Mondays aren't usually a day when I have puppy sitting duties but the lady who normally comes wasn't available today so I had to step in.  I got to Neils around 2pm as usual and when I opened the front door I was suprirsed to hear Luna scraping on the door from the lobby to the hall.... shes usually in her cage.  I opened the door where I was greeted enthusiastically by Luna .... and also by Rachael who was at the top of the stairs.  Rachael had gone all the way to work this morning and been sent straight back home.  A co- worker had tested positive for Covid.  So Rachael had to wotk from home.  Not easy for her as her computer wasn't set up for work ... and she only started in this new job last week.  But she was due to have some online training and take some phone calls as well as some other work. 

So I just stayed downstairs and played with Luna as usual - trying to keep as quiet as possible  Not easy due to the fact that Luna has " found her voice "... she's begun to bark.  Previously she hasn't barked at all when Ive been with her.  But we had a nice play inside and out and she was ready to go into her crate after my 2 hour session.  I left at 4pm and Rachael was due to finish her work at 5pm. 

The weather was lovely today - a beautiful Spring day and I enjoyed a nice wander by the River Derwent to and from Neils.

Steps today - 10,835

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.