Nant y Pandy

Despite growing up in Anglesey, I have never seen a red squirrel - until today. In fairness, actually seeing a tree on the bleak western parts of the island was excitement enough, so even a grey squirrel would have seemed exotic. Besides, during my childhood the invasion of the greys was taking place, and it’s only in recent years that the reds have increased to the extent that in 2016 Anglesey was declared free of grey squirrels. 

Needless to say, today’s visit to the Nant y Pandy nature reserve was joyful, watching these gorgeous creatures with their shining chestnut coats, tell-take tufted ears and jet black eyes as they climbed and jumped effortlessly through the trees and audibly munched on hazelnuts held tightly in their dexterous little hands.  Thanks must to fellow Blipper KarenC for pointing me in the right direction to find these beauties, and to Hugh, the legendary ‘Squirrel Whisperer’.

It will come as no surprise that I’m completely unable to single out one shot to post, so there are inevitably extras. I’ve struggled to decide on my main, and in the end have changed my original one on the tree - probably in the process of losing its winter ear tufts, for the current main. 

Thanks so much for your generous response to yesterday’s mallard madness! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.