pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

Best

I have had to wait to share today’s photo. 

The official photos from my best friend’s wedding earlier this year, hadn’t yet been released and so it had been politely requested that I didn’t jump the gun. Having now seen the photos and accompanying documentary-of-the-day video, I can see why they were keen to maintain its integrity as the wedding photographer/biographer has done a fantastic job in capturing not only some marvellous images and footage, but more importantly, that joyous happy feel of the day.

This one means a lot to me personally as I don’t know of many other decent images where my best mate and I feature together. My mate had asked for some assistance with the timings of the walk down the aisle from the top of the stairs to the song they had chosen – that’s why he is clutching his phone. There was absolutely no way I was going to let that pass without putting my arm through his and mincing down the stairs and aisle with him. 

It’s a shot which perfectly encapsulates our friendship (probably our lives) because it shows him getting on with the task in hand and me too busy titting around to take anything seriously, and yet somehow we remained linked with our friendship now in its 27th (approximately) year. 

The accompanying video to the day was fantastic and also included the audio from the various speeches. I was a little choked up to find that the bit that I was most proud of in my speech, made the cut:- 

“That’s why these two are so perfect together, because as you get a little older, you get a few knock backs, you pick up a few scrapes and bruises and maybe you reach a point where it would be easier to shy away and shield yourself from any further heartache. Not these two. 

Whether they realise it or not, they had the courage to fall in love with each other. You might question that word here, but it is so true. We fall in love. But we can only fall when we find the courage to let go.”

It was a really good day.



Photo by: Kim Williams

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.