More Menhirs

After breakfast I jumped in the Renault and drove 38 miles (61km) northeast to Vila Viçosa in the region’s marble producing area. It was dry here. It was dry there. 

The plan was to visit the palace of the dukes of Bragança. I arrived too late for the only English language tour of the day. I was offered a tour in Portuguese. I have too short an attention span for guided tours, but in Portuguese… 

I declined. You do not get in except on a guided tour. Oh well. 

It is a lovely wee town however, so I enjoyed a bit of time exploring it. Then it was lunchtime, of course. I had quite a modest meal by recent standards, so that was OK. 

On the drive back to Évora the heavens opened again. They seem to be getting a whole winter’s rain in two days. 

I did stop off at the Cromoleque dos Almendres near Évora - 95 menhirs which make up Iberia’s largest Megalithic group. I got very wet.  

The Blip is the main square in Vila Viçosa, which is charming The trees are all orange, and covered in fruit at this time of year. The Extra is some of the menhirs, just about ready to float away. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.