Trouble

It has been raining here pretty much non-stop for 24 hours (hence yesterday’s investment in an umbrella). 

But the news is not all wet and gloomy. This morning I collected my rental car. It gave me options beyond sitting in the flat sulking. I decided to stick with plan A, and hope for the best.

Plan A was to drive to Monsaraz, 35 miles (56 km) east of here, almost at the Spanish border. I was rewarded. It was dry there. The sun even appeared occasionally. Well, a couple of times anyway. 

As promised in the guide book it is a delightful wee village, with a castle to go with it. I also found a delightful wee restaurant there, and - surprise, surprise - stuffed my face again.  

After lunch I went hunting for menhirs in the vicinity, and found three. The one known as Menir do Outeiro was a challenge. It is not in Outeiro but in the next village along - Barrada. I went up the same muddy, potholed track three times before I found it. It is 5.6m high, so you would think it would be easy to find. 

Certainly I enjoyed driving about to see a little more of the region, but I wonder how many visitors get to see it dripping wet and lush green, as opposed to parched dry and brown. 

The Obelix in me meant an obelisk had to be Blipped, so I opted for the troublesome one at Barrada. The Extras are Monsaraz. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.