Francesinha

I enjoyed waking up in Évora this morning. I had slept well. It was totally quiet. The sun was shining. I had coffee (waking up is a process for me - not just the act of opening my eyes).

It was a good start. 

The nearest bakeries for buying breakfast seem to be 5-10 minutes walk away, which is not quite as convenient as I would like, but excellent news for the step count. 

I ended up having breakfast in the gardens beside the Roman temple ruins, and then exploring the town centre a bit more once my energy levels had returned. 

Apart from getting to know my surroundings better, I had almost no objectives for the day. The minor exceptions were to buy more coffee beans and an umbrella. 

Lunch turned into a bit of an event. I decided to try francesinha for the first time*. Wiki describes it as a

… sandwich originally from Porto, made with bread, wet-cured ham, linguiça, fresh sausage like chipolata, steak or roast meat, and covered with melted cheese and a hot and thick spiced tomato and beer sauce. It is typically served with french fries.  

Xana’s “how to” video certainly produces an end result exactly like what I ate. I did my best with the chips, but… 

Perhaps I will have an apple for dinner. 

The Blip is the carnage I inflicted on my digestion and my arteries in the name of immersing myself in local culture. 

The Extra is my favourite out of the other shots which I took today. 

* Old fool. Eyes bigger than stomach again. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.