Moving On

I said my fond farewells to Porto this morning to catch the 9:32 train to Lisbon.

The sun was shining. It was pleasant 14ºc with a freshness to the air after some rain overnight. I had an easy 15 minute walk to catch a commuter train at São Bento station for my 4 minute commute to the mainline station at Campanhã. 

By just after 15:00 I was in Évora, 134km east of Lisbon in the Alentejo region, after changing trains in Lisbon. 

Having made my way to my apartment and settling in, I went out to stretch my legs while walking around the town centre and getting my bearings. It is a web of very narrow streets inside the town walls (Extra). 

This wee wander also got me a Blip, as I bumped into the remains of a Roman temple without really intending to.  

Lunch was a meagre sandwich at Oriente station in Lisbon, so I made up for it in the evening with octopus salad and then black pork, nicely lubricated with a glass of Alentejo red. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.