Zoom

What do you say about a day which has a funeral as the focal point? 

Well, it was a Zoom funeral. My cousin James, who was a year older than me. 

As for the Zoom bit, I recommend people should switch off the camera if they want to sit there drinking tea and eating biscuits. On a more positive theme, it is helpful to see the captions with people’s names - we’ve all had embarrassing moments at funerals when you know the face but can’t remember why, where or when. 

In fact at James’ mum’s funeral - only 5 years ago - I did not recognise another cousin. I had not seen her for 40 years, but still. 

I am fairly sure I went out (briefly) with another of those who Zoomed in. That would have been 35 years ago, so it was hard to be sure. If only her chest had been in shot, I would have known. 

It was all yet another reminder to get my own funeral arrangements set up to make it easier for those left behind when the inevitable happens.

In their final years my late parents bickered regularly about the burial/cremation choice. He was for cremation for himself, and whatever she wanted for herself. She was against cremation (for him or her - his views did not count for much). A change to what was in their wills was always under discussion. 

Junior and I would often have to sit there and listen.

Anyway, when he died she objected to his choice (in his will) of cremation. She wanted him buried. Right up until the last minute we wondered if she would refuse to go to the crematorium. Perhaps she was worried we’d throw her in after him…

What strange memories these things throw up. 

In this case, the other big element is it takes your own mortality and rubs it in your face, good and hard.

It was a good reason to enjoy a glass of the quality stuff. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.