Skeletal

My Renault went back to Guerin this morning. I had only booked it for 48 hours to give me mobility to see around the area. I quite liked it (the Captur). I had a Renault Laguna many years ago, and it reminded me of that. 

I am not a car person. I went 12 years without one when I lived in Glasgow, and it was only when we moved to suburbia after Junior came along that I reverted to the necessary evil. 

It rained red dust last night, so the thing was a big mess when I returned it. Repsol relieved me of €30 to top up the tank with 95 octane petrol at €2 per litre, so I think that is about £1.69.    

In other news, it has been dry all day so far and the sun even appeared briefly, in a hazy kind of way. 

After jumping about all over the place in the last two days, my plan for today was to be a bit more laid back. So it turned out. 

My only “holiday” activity - apart from general wall to wall relaxation - was to visit the Capela dos Ossos (Chapel of Bones) here in Évora. Apparently the use of bones as an interior design feature was intended to encourage 17th century folks to reflect on the transitory nature of human life, and the need to be constantly committed to living by Christian values.   

The Blip had to be bones. The Extra too, as it helps to show the scale of the place. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.