Good Advice

This may come as a shock to some, but lunch was the main event of my day. 

Fellow Blipper Amanda from nearby Mourão recommended a place here in Évora. It was excellent. Very local and traditional - I was taking my chances on deciphering a menu in Portuguese again.

Either I am getting better at it or I got lucky. I thought I was ordering roast pork and that is what I got. No bones. No skin. No gristle. No fat. But a massive pile of fried potatoes and a little rice to soak up the sauce. 

Everywhere I have been in Portugal serves up massive portions, and I may have to defer to my age by asking for half portions.

What ignominy. I will be hanging out in garden centre cafes next. Where will it all end?  

It was warm and sunny, so ideal for just strolling around people watching and seeing what locals get up to on a Saturday. At one point I heard crowd noises and thought it might be the local football team. No, it was the bullring. I moved quickly on.    

My Blip is A Choupana, as I waited for my soup to arrive. Which reminds me, I have only had dessert once while I have been in Portugal.   

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.