Sunday, 19:55

Sundays in Évora are more laid back than even Porto. My one was anyway.

Apart from what was (not) going on in the outside world, mine was conditioned by a bad night’s sleep compounded by the time change. Thank goodness I do not have another time change when I fly home on Tuesday. 

The lack of energy, added to having been here for 6 days now, actually resulted in me getting a bit bored and restless this afternoon. Perhaps it was a good thing. The next few days will be busy with travel and then whatever awaits me at home. 

The Blip is one of my favourite spots in town - the Galaria das Damas in the Jardim Público. It is ideal to just sit down in the gardens to watch the world go by, especially in today’s sunshine. I did that after lunch.

Cue the Extra. Lunch. The meat is one of the Alentejo specialities -  “black” pork, the pigs being fed on acorns. I think the light brown stuff is migas - a kind of… dunno. A cross between fried bread, bread dumplings and bread sauce? The green stuff is creamed broccoli. I think.    

Well, the food has been fun and interesting here. To have had only one mishap (so far - mustn’t tempt fate) while going to places which are not tourist orientated (no photos on the menu and usually no English) counts as a success. 

I managed to keep my mind off Mothers' Day - mostly - so that counts as a big success. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.