Parque de Nações

Monday brought me the 11:35 train to Lisbon, and a night in the Olissippo Hotel at Parque de Nações ahead of my flight home tomorrow morning. 

Just like in October, I found myself preferring this area - away from downtown Lisbon - because it is quieter and convenient for the airport as well as the railway station.

It was nice to get off the train just after 1pm and cross the street to the Vasco da Gama shopping centre for a huge choice of good places to eat in its food court. It was also enjoyable to eat my burrito outside on the terrace  (20ºc). 

Being in a hotel is fun after 2 weeks in apartments. I may go and find the bar in a minute. 

Mindful of tomorrow being a travel day, in the afternoon I got out and walked by the sea for the best part of 90 minutes. If dinner turns out to be heavy, I may be out there this evening too. 

I got my Blip on my walk, outside the Teatro Camões, home of the National Ballet. It reminded me of my last visit to Russia, which may well turn out to be my final one. 

The Extra is from Évora as I was reflecting on my week there while walking back to the apartment after breakfast. I took the shot in the Jardim Diana where I got my Blip last Monday. Those trees had no leaves on them at all last week. Look for yourself if you do not believe me.

Spring seems to arrive quickly around here!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.