Growing

Here’s Thomas and cousin Ella. He is 10 months younger. They like to compare heights.

It was another beautiful day (shorts and T shirts in March in Northumberland!) so instead of resting the sore calf I decided to have a short walk up the steep path behind the house and onto the moor to see how I got on. Weirdly, the calf felt fine on the steep bits and I didn’t limp at all till I reached the carriage drive which had a flat stretch. I decided to go right round to Rickety Gate and back across a path I rarely take as it is usually too boggy but I thought as it has been dry for some time I’d risk it. During the walk I saw a few places which had gone on fire yesterday. Then just as I reached the top of my return to the carriage drive I noticed a fire in Primrose Woods. I met another women walker and said I would report it but she said she already had and the fire service was on its way.

We picked up Thomas and James from school and took them home. James was fine about not coming till tomorrow - he said he’d teach his dad some programming! Then we went to Gosforth for Nathaniel - Ella didn’t mind not coming as she’s excited about sleeping in the same room as her mum on the rugby tour.

Nathaniel told me a girl in his class is having two Ukrainian children to stay. Their dad is fighting in the war and their mum
can’t come as she is a nurse so is needed there. Also Nathaniel’s Dad’s sister is having a mother and daughter to stay. However visa progress is hidebound in bureaucracy. I’m fact it’s is a shambles. More ineptitude from this government.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.