Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Celebratory meal

Where to start with this journal? G promised me a Sunday Lunch (favourite meal) for my birthday. She was even thinking of cooking it on Monday after we got home from EXPO, but as it happens, we stayed there later than planned, and the rest of the week has been non-stop, so today was the first opportunity.

It coincides with an anniversary that I like to remember- that on the 25th March 1992, Pakistan played England in the Cricket World Cup in Australia and Pakistan won, but that's only one reason to remember the date. That year, having worked for the same company for over five years, I decided it was time to explore other possibilities. I quit my job, enrolled on an "Introduction to Sound Recording and Mixing" course in Brixton, and with my sister, SweetArt, we got on a plane to the UK.

It was an eventful journey. We got updates of the match scores on the flight, and when we got to immigration at Heathrow, all the officers had one ear glued to the radio. I think we were on a National Express coach heading to Exeter when we learnt that Pakistan won. Yay! :))

We were met in Exeter by our friend Priscilla who had driven down herself, accompanied by a senior member of staff from the Braille charity she worked. She was learning to drive and needed someone in the car with her. SweetArt had been sick on the coach, so wanted to stop and get some rest. Unfortunately, Priscilla's car broke down, and she had to call a friend for help. It ended up taking the same length of time to travel the 250 miles from Heathrow to Exeter as it did to travel 15 miles from Exeter to Moretonhampstead! [On the B3212, I should add - for anyone familiar with that part of the world.]

We knew that Priscilla's colleagues had prepared a meal for her "two friends from Dubai". They had a LONG wait for us to arrive and were struggling to find ways to keep the meal warm. We finally arrived around 8 PM, three hours late, but thankful to have a hot meal and meet Priscilla's colleagues, Maureen and Geraldine! Yes, the G of my journal, now my flatmate of more than 26 years! There you go.

The day began with a visit from Petra. She wanted to wish me for my birthday and came with croissants and muffins! I am well overdue to do a thyroid blood test, so she drove me to a nearby clinic. I had an hour to do some invoices before G came back from school, and we headed to Festival City, where Carrefour has a lot more options. Ramadan is fast approaching, so they have a lot of offers.

Home for the rest of the day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.