Saving the Daffodils

Well, it's clearly March, and while the poets say April is the cruelest month, I'd allow that March has a pretty fine mean streak, too. We HAD springtime and it was lovely. Now winter is back, and the weekend brought steeply dropping temperatures, snow squalls, and bitter winds.

One of the plants that grows beautifully here is the daffodil. There were plenty on this property before I got here and then I planted a ton of them myself, in shades of yellow and white and even pink (the pink ones are the last to show up each spring).

Temperatures that get very cold and stay cold can damage the daffodils, and so, in planning for Monday morning's temps in the teens, I have been bringing them into the house by the armload. In this photo you may see one of the groups of flowers I cut and brought in.

There are many more. So picture me, with vases of dainty yellow ruffled blooms all through the house, and sunshine - FLOWER POWER sunshine, no matter WHAT the weather does - on every window sill!

In other news around the house, I've been organizing my CD collection, which has been a mixture of work and lots of fun. I inherited a bunch of CDs when my sister died, and I bought a bunch of new ones to make that Music To Save My Life playlist that seemed so important after she passed. So now, I am integrating all of those CDs into my already alphabetized-by-artist collection. This is taking some time and effort, but hey, I get to TOUCH all my music, and how cool is that?

I am a lover of rock and roll music, and I am familiar with the work of the band the Foo Fighters, though I don't own any of their stuff. We learned some sad news on this day: that their "jovial, ferocious" drummer Taylor Hawkins had died at the age of 50. So I think it's appropriate for me to include a Foo Fighters song as my music track. Here are the Foo Fighters, with Jimmy Page and John Paul Jones. This time, Dave Grohl is on drums (playing John Bonham) and Taylor Hawkins is on vocals (playing Robert Plant) for a fine rendition of the Led Zep track, Rock and Roll, live at Wembley in 2008. Oh wait, here's another great one: Foo Fighters, with Cold Day in the Sun. Rock on, sir!

Bonus: Variety's list of 10 great performances by Taylor Hawkins.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.