Barnes Castle

We three were all up early today.  Maybe it was the good weather, maybe it’s because BB was going on his DofE practice expedition.  Anyway, that is why BB was up early.  He hadn’t sorted anything out and hadn’t packed.  I left him to it, and eventually got myself ready to drive him to the starting point.   We had been sent a map with the starting point, which I was familiar with, however I was heading for the wrong place – though not by very far.  As we drove down the A1, I spotted everyone in a parking place right on the A1 which  I didn’t even know existed,  Luckily I was able to get back to it quite easily.  I discovered later that lots of other people went to where I was originally heading.  I threw him out with a bottle of sun tan lotion, and once I had risked life and limb getting back onto the A1, I had a lovely drive back home stopping off for some nice bread on the way home.  The washing machine had been busy while I was out, so I hung it out and then put the next load on to wash.
 
BB had been at church, and reappeared at some point.  Later we went for lunch at a local café.  My choice was nice, but not quite what I expected – and much more filling than I expected.  TT’s was also more filling than he expected.  We then went our separate ways, me to the supermarket and TT to get the bus into Edinburgh  where, beer, whisky and curry were waiting on him.  I dropped my shopping off at home, then headed out for a walk in the sunshine.  It was glorious again – summer in March.  I took a deep breath and risked walking up to the radio masks, in the hope that there would be no cows in the field.  I was very relieved to find the field cow free.  I then walked along to the vaults and then back home.  The views weren’t great, as it was quite hazy and it looked like a haar was coming in.  We have swapped mud for dust - everything has really dried up due to the last couple of weeks of wonderful weather.
 
I wasn’t home long when I had to head off to some remote point in the Lammermuirs to find and collect BB.  They should be camping, but the Council won’t allow it due to covid.  Again, I had a map to find the right place.  The group leader had told me if I got to the wind turbines, I had gone too far.  As they loomed into view, I thought I must have gone too far and must have missed them as I was so intent on the road but I was sure I hadn’t, when all of a sudden I came across the walkers and a few cars picking up.  They have had a fabulous day – and BB was full of stories on the drive home.  We were driving into the most amazing evening sky, with a huge orange sun.
 
I left BB to get himself sorted out and headed out for  Chinese takeaway. I almost parked next to a Bentley with a top box – these too things do not seem to go together!!   I had to wait ages on our food, but we enjoyed it when we eventually tucked in.    The rest of the evening seemed to disappear and TT was home much earlier than I expected to see him.  We lose an hour tonight – which is never good.
 
This is Barnes Castle, the extras are the Hopeton Monument on the Garleton Hills and the radio masts on Barney Hill.

 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.