The Lammermuirs

We started the day at a remote spot in the Lammermuirs.  BB had to be dropped off back where I had picked him up last night.  TT was the driver today, but at the last minute I decided to join them, as I thought there might be great views.  I was concentrating on the road so much last night that I did not have time to even consider that there might have been a view.  We were all a bit weary – and I am sure that BB would have liked a few extra hours in his bed, but that wasn’t to be.  There was a really heavy dew, and TT reported that it had been very misty at 5am.  We didn’t have to drive far, before we were in the mist – the haar.  I was glad TT was driving.  However, we didn’t have to gain much height to be back under a clear blue sky.  The drive up the hill didn’t seem to take so long today and it was nice to be able to look around.  There was a view, however, the haar rather spoiled things for us, though we could see the plume of smoke from the cement works coming up through the haar.
 
Most parents just drove up and threw their teen out.  We stopped and chatted to another couple of parents, and  then realised that it was well past the meeting up time and the leaders hadn’t appeared.  We started to wonder if we were all the wrong place, or at the wrong time (given the clocks had changed) – but we didn’t think we could have all got it wrong.  We tried to make contact, but eventually TT spotted a car coming up the hill.  It was a long story, but they had been curtailed by a closed road and a diversion.  Once they arrived, we headed home.  I eventually dragged myself out for a run – it was hard going again, but at least I did it.  It was such a beautiful morning and so nice to be out running.
 
We had lunch after I had done a supermarket shop.  TT went back to his marking and I went for a quick walk around by the farm and got home just in time to head off to collect BB – from another remote, though not quite so remote spot.  They were late.  They had got lost.  I’m not quite sure what had gone wrong, but all three groups were late back.  They had another fabulous day.  BB was looking very weary and a little bit pink, and was a little bit grumpy.  He came home and had a bowl of porridge – so I think he was also hungry.
 
TT cooked tea tonight, while I did a load of ironing.  BB had been very quiet all evening, but refuses to have an early night.  I’m not sure he will be easy to get out of bed tomorrow morning.
 
This is where our day started.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.