The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

The Tower

Part of a jigsaw we finished today, showing Shakespeare's London. We've enjoyed it immensely.

I haven't felt quite so rubbish today as in recent days. I still have a sore throat and a few other problems, but I think I may have had sinusitis. The home remedies seem to help. I'll test again tomorrow before going to work, just in case.

We woke confused because the clocks had gone forward. I threw some washing into the machine and hung it out to dry. Had a bath and was ready to go out with GG by 'new' 10 am, but I'd put her off because of my heavy cold. So I sat down with a jigsaw and a podcast. A card customer rang to say she didn't need any cards, but she'd send me a cheque for the DEC for Ukraine, as I'll be fundraising via a special new card design called Field of Sunflowers. I was touched by this offer.

CleanSteve said he fancied going out to watch skylarks on the common, so I threw on extra clothes (which I still haven't taken off) and went out with him, though I spent most of my time sitting under a tree on the common, attempting to finish my book. When we got home I lay out in the cabin, reading, but fell asleep. Woke up and finished my book, to my great satisfaction.

Then there was biscuit making (I am trying to make spicy gf biscuits that are tasty, but not as heavy as hot cross buns). Then supper, and making a orange buttercream filling to sandwich the biscuits, and catching up with friends on WhatsApp, and the podcasts (Dr Rangan Chatterjee is my new podfriend today). Started a new jigsaw. Haven't really started the new book, Summer, by Ali Smith, because her books take a while to get into.

And now I'm watching a documentary about the Falklands War. As it's on Channel 4, it's mostly adverts.
Podcaster Dr Chatterjee's guest, who's written a book about Sleep, says we need at least eight hours of 'sleep opportunity' per night. I shall be going to bed as soon as the Falklands War is over.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.