The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Inner harbour, Weymouth

Today was the designated day for introducing Sh, the Indian member of our party, to charity shops. She had expressed a desire to learn, and needed an outfit. We walked into town and started at the very beginning (how do you recognize a charity shop from the outside?), before venturing into a few and trying some clothes on. I found a good maxi-cardigan for Sh (she likes patterned knitwear) but she still needed a top for underneath. E found a gorgeous embroidered dress, but it was 20.pounds. I found a top that was too loose, and bought a duvet cover instead.

Sh offered to take us for coffee, as she had a load of vouchers, so we went to M&S, where we were later joined by my friend T, who had driven all the way down from North Dorset to meet me. Because of the events of recent years, we hadn't met up for five years, since her wedding in 2018.
She showed us all her proud-granny photos (she has two grandkids now). Then T and I went to catch up while walking around the inner harbour. She has been really ill with Lyme disease for a number of years, and had to shield during Lockdown. Sounds horrendous: I must find out more about the illness.

We had lunch in an e-bikes shop with a cafe, and then walked some more, including on the beach, where I had an ice cream, and to the Lifeboat shop, where I bought a fridge magnet for Sh's collection.

T went back to her car, because she had dogs at home to walk, and I pottered back through town, intending to take a walk once I'd dumped the duvet cover in my room. What actually happened was that I had a cup of tea, climbed into bed, and fell asleep! When I made it down to dinner later, I found that Sh had found a top to colour-match the cardigan, and E had also found a new outfit. They were both modelling their new 'suits'.

After dinner, we went to final-night entertainment, including bingo and E got a full house! She won 140 pounds in cash! That was so exciting that we had to forgo the in-house singers, and go straight to bed to lie down. I still had to pack my luggage in order to put it out insanely early the next morning.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.