Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Hat

or, The Old Gurkha

It took me a while to work out what was required in the way of subject for today's MM.  I don't think my brain's working very well right now.  However, 'hat' is a word made up of three letters in 'photography' so I'm hoping this qualifies.

This guy was in Abbey Gardens (in the sunshine - yes we had a lovely morning though it's all gone now).  I thought it a great face and particularly loved his hat, which was crimson and I'm sure knitted by his wife, who was there too.  This guy is almost certainly an ex-Gurkha.

Winchester has a small community of Gurkha families.  It used to be - possibly still is - the HQ of the Gurkha Regiment.  It certainly still has the Gurkha Museum up at Peninsula Barracks.  I did a couple of pieces of work for them a long time ago.  We still have a sketch in the house that Tony Hart made for my daughter at a charity fundraiser when she was ten years old. 

Days I went up there for meetings were always a delight.  Their British boss was a lovely man and I was given cups of tea off a silver tray served by then-current Gurkhas in white gloves.  It was the only time in my life I've ever been called 'memsahib'.  I nearly choked on my tea the first time - until I noticed the twinkle in the Gurkha's eye.  He knew he was flooring me ;))

So anyway, this is my MM entry for today - and huge thanks to KangaZu for hosting.

Thank you also, all of you, for being so kind to me yesterday.  Yes, I've had a good call with Guys Hosp, who are going to take care of getting my bloods done and my eyes tested and will let me know what I should do about drugs to take.  I've had a far less successful call with my doctors surgery, where my doctor is leaving, but hopefully I can circumnativate them for a while until this is all fixed.

Meanwhile, I'm afraid comments may get a bit short or thin for a little while, for which I deeply apologise.  Take care of yourselves  xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.