Going to the Zoo

Not often you see a two headed giraffe!
Today has been mainly spent at Chester Zoo - somewhere I don’t think I’ve visited for over thirty years. Mrs C wanted to go as a treat for her birthday and we were blessed with with warm and sunny weather. It’s certainly changed a lot since I was last there - all for the better as the animals seem to be kept in much more “natural” surroundings than I remember, and there is a lot more emphasis on the conservation side of the Zoo’s activities.
But, by God, it covers a lot of ground. We walked over 10 kilometres and spent five hours there. Even then we didn’t see everything. Though some of that was due to exhibits being closed to prevent the spread of Avian Flu. Also, winter opening hours meant we ran out of time at the end, not that my aching legs were too bothered about that. But I think one problem was that though it was a warm sunny day for us, it was still a bit too cold for many of the tropical animals to venture outside. But that, in turn, meant we saw quite a few animals we might normally have zoomed past on the way to try and see the “exotic” creatures.
Mrs C will return with her camera later in the year when the opening hours are longer. I will probably go as well but will leave her to her photographic devices whilst I wander around and see if I can spot some of those animals which remained elusive today. I’m talking to you Mr Tiger.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.