Cum On Feel The Noize

When the band is playing at full tilt, I sometimes have difficulty in hearing my amp. Not a problem for the punters out front, as a direct signal is taken from the amp to the PA. The issue was mainly that my little 200W amp was running virtually flat out and turning it up further just resulted in distortion. Also, the speaker cabs were pointed at my legs rather than my ears!
I have now killed two birds with one stone by trading in the old rig for this combo. Not only is it rated at 500W but, as you can see, it can be tilted back on stage so that the sound is directed towards the ears. Factor in that I’m also uprating the pickup in my bass, and hearing what I’m playing shouldn’t be a problem in the future. I should also be able to hear what the others are playing with more clarity as we’re moving away from stage front monitors to in ear monitors. Stuart has kindly donated his spare rig - I just need to source a power supply and get some new ear buds.
And acquiring new gear is just about all I’ve done today. After the frantic activity of the long weekend in Chester, it’s been nice just to relax this afternoon.
What I do need to do now is carefully measure the new amp so I can have a cover made for it. The company I usually use, list one for the older version of this amp but can’t confirm it will fit mine without measurements and/or a template. Hopefully I can get a cover before our next gig - being a combo, the new amp is bigger and heavier than what I had before, and I can easily see me clattering it into doors, the stage and the boot of my car as I lug it around. A nice padded cover should prevent damage to both the amp and whatever it may accidentally come into contact with.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.