Topography

As you will know, I tend to dip in and out of challenges, but today I have a clear idea of what I want to blip. I plan to focus on coastal topography, on beach and mountain - and there’s certainly no prize for guessing the location! In my head, I know there’s an area of West Shore where at the lowest tide, boulders lie in tidal pools creating their own surreal landscape, backed by the distant hazy mountains. 

The tide is right, and the Carneddau almost float in haze. Perfect - but I just can’t find the place. Maybe the winter storms have transformed the scene, or is it my memory that is at fault and they’re far further down the beach - south towards Deganwy, and I know that is too far to walk. 

The reality is, I need to find another shot, and - pressed for time - I make my way to the most northerly area of the shore where rocks and boulders  join with barnacle-encrusted outlet pipes to form a landscape of their own. Here, I’m usually alone- but of course today my quest is thwarted by ‘intruders’ who spoil my scene and show no signs of moving - and unlike Saturday’s  paddle boarders, I know they won’t enhance my shot.  

My time is nearly up, so I turn back - always amazed at how different things look from another viewpoint. I find my shot - less dramatic than the one I was holding in my head, but it will have to do. And yes, it is another iPhone shot, though today I had my 90D with me. 

Thanks again to KangaZu for hosting this month’s mono challenges so creatively! 

And thanks once more for all your comments stars and hearts; I’m very gradually catching up! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.