Good old Oban Bay!

Not quite so glorious today, but we still had some sunshine. I think the best is behind us - as from Friday the forecast promises 'light rain' for a week. Never mind, my steep banks get very dry and need a gentle soaking!

Drove down to the town this morning to recover all the equipment which has been out on loan to the locals for our annual Spring Clean. Disappointing to find that only four people have signed up to borrow litter-pickers, bags or gloves in the last nine days. Thirty packets of sunflower seeds were left on the table - one of our members packeted up loads of seeds for the kids to take home and sow in a show of support for the Ukraine, sunflowers being their national flower. Not a patch on last year, when the Spring Clean was only on for a weekend. Oh well, there's always another year! On the way back I stopped to take a picture - a very familiar one, but the best I could do today! The house on the left is on a tiny island off the end of the island of Kerrera and is owned by a member of our Photo Club. Not sure how she gets over for meetings - I must ask her!

Spent the afternoon playing with plants - I filled up a couple of tubs with one of my favourite ferns, Dryopteris sieboldii. Not the easiest of ferns - it needs a warm spot as it doesn't start into growth until very late otherwise. I've never really succeeded with this species, but I'm giving it another go! It's my extra today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.