Sick doggy

Rather a rude awakening at 6.30 when I heard Phin make that warning sound in his throat that signals he was about to vomit. Sure enough he thoughtfully shot off the bed and headed to the corner of the room by the door.

Took him downstairs to let him in the garden and after cleaning up in the bedroom found him chomping on the long grass by the hedge. Suffice to say he was sick several times and refused all food after our early walk. He paced the house and wouldn’t settle most of the day.
I knew he wasn’t himself when he even refused a biscuit.

By 4pm he’d not eaten and barely drunk any water when I noticed a tremor in his shoulders. Quick call to the vet for advice and they asked me to bring him in. I drove him over in the early rush hour traffic thinking of all sorts of awful things that could be wrong with him whilst he lay on the back seat.

The minute we got into the car park he perked up and by the time we got to see the vet he was excited and looked like he was fully fit. She checked his tummy and took his temperature which was slightly raised but nothing too concerning and he tolerated the thermometer well. She suggested an anti sickness injection and to give him boiled chicken and rice (I’d cooked some earlier on standby) for a couple of days. As I write this he’s fast asleep on the sofa with Mr PHL and wolfed down his chicken and rice so I think the drug is helping.
He’s a worry and I think we’re going to explore some kind of muzzle possibly a basket type one to use when he’s with the other dogs at daycare. Hopefully it will stop him eating things he shouldn’t.

Thanks to Ingeborg for hosting AbstractThursday, I’ve tried to make todays blip of my baby blanket as colourful as I could. I didn’t know the history of the blipper who founded this challenge I’m sorry to hear he’s going through a tough time medically. My thoughts go out to Youoregon1 and his family.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.